Three new COVID Ready digital solutions that will support the reopening of South Australia, reunite families and protect the state, have been revealed.

EntryCheck SA

Returning South Australians and travellers wanting to enter South Australia are required to complete a simple border entry process, EntryCheck SA.

Replacing the Cross Border Travel Registration application and SA Health exemption form, EntryCheck SA will assess an individual’s vaccination status, departure location and COVID-19 risk.

Find more information and common questions on EntryCheck SA.

HealthCheck SA

Based on the information provided, vaccinated individuals arriving from interstate areas with community transmission and from overseas, may also be prompted to use the new HealthCheck SA app as part of their entry conditions.

Individuals will be sent a link to download the HealthCheck SA mobile app, which will help monitor daily symptoms and guide users through any testing and quarantine requirements, depending on the individual’s circumstances.

Based on the nation-leading Home Quarantine SA app, HealthCheck SA provides geolocation and live face-recognition to ensure that people entering the state from hig-risk locations are complying with their entry requirements.

The EntryCheck SA process will ensure South Australia remains safe and strong while the state reopens its borders to international and interstate arrivals in a safe and controlled way.

Find more information and common questions on HealthCheck SA.

MySA GOV proof of vaccination

South Australians and visitors to South Australia can integrate their digital COVID-19 vaccination certificate into their mySA Gov app, making it easier for individuals to show their vaccination status at businesses, venues and events where proof of vaccination is required.

Once integrated, each time you use the COVID-SAfe Check-In function at a location with mandated vaccination requirements, the check-in screen will display your name and confirmation you have a valid certificate, providing a seamless solution for individuals and businesses.

For all other venues you have the option to also display your vaccination status when checking in, by ticking always show my vaccination status on check in on the contact details screen when next checking into a venue.

You can also manually show your digital certificate in the mySA Gov app by selecting COVID-19 digital certificate.

As the vaccine data sits in the Federal Australian Immunisation Register, to integrate the COVID-19 digital certificate into the mySA Gov app, South Australians and travellers will need to:

  • Ensure Medicare is linked to your myGov account
  • Download the Express Plus Medicare app and sign in with your myGov details
  • Select Proof of vaccinations and then View history
  • Select Share with check in app and then mySA Gov

See more about adding proof of COVID-19 vaccination to mySA GOV.

South Australia COVID-Ready Plan

The COVID-Ready Plan outlines the safe easing of restrictions and how COVID-19 will be managed in South Australia.

This includes the lifting of jurisdictional borders in the first instance and subsequently restrictions on activities across the coming months, along with ensuring a strong health response to manage COVID-19 cases.

The COVID-Ready Plan is based on health advice and expert modelling. It outlines a measured and clear path out of the pandemic, ensuring COVID-19 can be controlled when it enters South Australia and prepares the state for living with COVID-19 in the longer term.

COVID safe behaviours will still be needed – getting tested for COVID-19 with any symptoms, no matter how mild, as soon as possible, along with physical distancing, hand hygiene and staying home when sick.

COVID-Ready Plan modelling

The expert modelling that informed the plan has been undertaken by highly expert, independent academics from the University of Adelaide, who are part of the broader Doherty Institute Network. The modelling is specific to South Australia and was commissioned by SA Health in partnership with SAHMRI.

From 23 November


  • Open borders to fully vaccinated people from all Australian states and territories (Quarantine will apply to LGAs with community transmission and less than 80% of the population fully vaccinated.)
  • Vaccinated international arrivals require 7 days quarantine
  • Unvaccinated authorised arrivals require 14 days quarantine


Restrictions remain in place:

  • Masks in indoor public settings
  • Current density and activity requirements
  • 30 people at home gatherings
  • Private activity cap of 150 people

Controlled COVID into our community

  • Hospitals and health services prepared for increase in COVID cases
  • Support for people with COVID-19 to recover safely at home
  • Increasing access to COVID-19 vaccines

At 90% of South Australians fully vaccinated


  • Borders open to all fully vaccinated domestic and international arrivals
  • Unvaccinated arrivals will require 14 days quarantine


  • Restrictions on most activities lifted
  • High-risk activities only available for people who are fully vaccinated (for example: nightclubs, standing alcohol consumption)
  • Masks remain in high-risk settings (for example: hospitals, aged-care facilities)
  • COVID management plans required

Living with COVID in our community

  • Hospitals and health services managing COVID cases
  • Support for people with COVID-19 to recover safely at home

View the COVID-Ready Plan (PDF, 41.1 KB)

Current restrictions

27 November


The Arrivals—Associated Direction No 2 came into at 5.00 pm 27 November 2021.

Conditions of entry to South Australia are now listed on the EntryCheck SA page.


Activities—Associated Direction No 16 is in effect from 12:01 am, 23 November 2021.

See Activities for more information.

Passenger transport vaccination

Passenger Transport Vaccination Direction No 2 came into effect at 5:52 pm 22 November 2021.

COVID SAfe Check-In

All travellers to SA should download the mySA GOV app from Google Play or the App Store prior to travel to South Australia. Plane arrivals are required to use the COVID Safe Check-In to scan a QR code specific to the Adelaide Airport immediately after their arrival.

General retail premises, and businesses that conduct a defined public activity, an activity with more than 100 people attending, or passenger transport services must use the COVID SAfe Check-In or other approved contact tracing system.

The QR Code will be issued upon the completion of an appropriate COVID-Safe Plan.

The QR code must be displayed in the premises/business/venue.

All people entering the place must upload their relevant contact details to the approved contact tracing system. This upload is automatic when you use the COVID SAfe Check-In to scan the QR code. Paper recording logs will be made available as a back-up for people who don’t have a smart phone.

More information:

Current directions

Emergency Management (Residential Aged Care Facilities No 43) (COVID-19) Direction 2021.

As of 12:31 pm on 24 November 2021, the following Directions are in effect:

Page last updated: 29 November 2021