Movement into some remote and regional areas across South Australia has been restricted to help slow the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus).

The decision came after National Cabinet provided in-principle agreement to the Commonwealth Minister for Health taking action under the Commonwealth Biosecurity Act 2015 to restrict travel into remote Indigenous communities, to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Subsequently, specific Aboriginal communities ‘opted in’ to the restrictions.

Before entering or re-entering a designated area, a person must first self-isolate for 14 days and receive formal written permission (further information on this process is available in a separate Fact Sheet on this page). These requirements include residents of those communities.

The restrictions commenced from 11.59 pm on Thursday 26 March 2020 under the Biosecurity Act 2015 Coronavirus Determination. Since then, the Determination has undergone a series of amendments. As a consequence of amendment on 23 April 2020, Yarilena (near Ceduna) and Dunjiba (near Oodnadatta) were no longer designated areas. As a consequence of further amendment on 23 May 2020, Davenport (near Port Augusta) is no longer a designated area. On 15 May 2020, National Cabinet agreed to extend the Determination (and related restrictions) from 17 June 2020 until 17 September 2020.

Currently, restrictions apply to areas on which the following South Australian communities are located:

  • Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara (APY) Lands
  • Gerard (Riverland)
  • Maralinga Tjarutja (MT) Lands
  • Nepabunna excluding Iga Warta (Flinders Ranges)
  • Point Pearce (Yorke Peninsula)
  • Yalata (Far West Coast)

For further information contact the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787.

Related information

Current Determination (effective from 24 May 2020) Biosecurity (Human Biosecurity Emergency) (Human Coronavirus with Pandemic Potential) (Emergency Requirements for Remote Communities) Amendment (No. 3) Determination 2020

Current Explanatory Statement of the Determination

Biosecurity Act 2015 Coronavirus Determination - The previous Determination, incorporating Amendments No. 1 (effective 8 April 2020 to 23 April 2020) and No. 2 (effective 24 April 2020 to 23 May 2020)

Commonwealth Department of Health advice on remote community travel restrictions

Remote community entry requirements in place under the Biosecurity Act 2015 - Commonwealth Department of Health factsheet

South Australia designated biosecurity areas map

Australia designated biosecurity areas map

Remote Area Travel Restrictions flow chart (PDF, 129.2 KB)

Australian government media releases

SA government media releases

Page last updated 20 May 2020