Travel within SA

There are no restrictions on travel within South Australia. Previous advice was to re-consider your need to travel to regional areas. This advice has now been relaxed.

Travel within South Australia is a great way to support our regional communities and economies.

Arriving from interstate

Border control check points are operating for traffic entering South Australia. You will be questioned regarding your travel plans. SA Police are also patrolling border areas and will stop people they find deliberately avoiding main roads.

Non-essential travellers will still be able to enter South Australia, but will be required to

  • identify a suitable place of quarantine
  • travel directly to that location
  • self-quarantine at that location for 14 days.

SA Police are conducting periodic checks on people who have returned from interstate to ensure they are complying with the mandatory 14 days of self-quarantine.

Essential travellers

People in the following categories fall within the definition of essential travellers.

  1. National and State security and governance
    1. Any person who, in the conduct of their role in relation to the protection of Australia or South Australia from threats such as terrorism, war, espionage, or acts of foreign interference is required to be physically present in South Australia for that purpose.
    2. Active military and Defence Department personnel (including civilian staff and private contractors) and personnel required to support time-critical national security and defence activities, who are required to be physically present in South Australia in the conduct of their duties and who have undergone risk mitigation strategies.
  2. Health services
    Persons who are requested by the Chief Executive of the Department for Health and Wellbeing, or by the Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Health, or by the delegate of either, to assist in the provision of health services in South Australia and who are required to be physically present in South Australia in the conduct of those duties.
    Note—Evidence of a request under this clause is required.
  3. Essential medical treatment
    Persons who travel to South Australia in connection with the receipt of urgent and essential medical treatment and any persons who accompany them for the purpose of providing care and support, provided that such persons self-quarantine during any period during which they are not travelling to or from medical appointments or receiving medical treatment (or accompanying a person receiving medical treatment).
  4. Transport and freight services
    Persons who, in the conduct of their duties, provide transport or freight services into, within and out of South Australia (including any crew on such transport or freight services) and are required to be physically present in South Australia for such purposes.
  5. Skills critical to maintaining key industries or businesses
    1. Specialists required for industry or business continuity and maintenance of competitive operations where the appropriate skills are not available in South Australia, where the service is time critical and where the provision of the service requires that the person be physically present in South Australia.
    2. Persons who, in the conduct of their duties, are responsible for maintenance or repair of infrastructure critical to South Australia and are required to be physically present in South Australia for such purposes.
    3. Persons who primarily reside or work in South Australia and travel for work purposes for regular periods according to established work schedules.
      Note—A FIFO worker (being an essential traveller under subclause (3)) is not required to self-quarantine on return to South Australia, provided that their employer is applying risk mitigation strategies during periods of work.
  6. Emergency services workers
    Emergency services workers (including fire fighters, paramedics, ambulance officers and police officers) who are required to be physically present in South Australia in the conduct of their duties.
  7. Cross border community members
    Persons who are ordinarily resident at, or near, a South Australian border and who, in the ordinary course of their occupation, education or daily life, have reasonable cause to travel across that border.
  8. Passing through
    Persons who pass through the State by the most direct and practical route and means.
  9. Compassionate grounds
    Persons who travel to South Australia to visit a critically or terminally ill relative or to attend the funeral of an immediate family member, provided that such persons self-quarantine during any period during which they are not visiting their relative or attending the funeral.
    Note—Persons who claim to be essential travellers under this clause may be required to provide evidence that they fall within the scope of this clause.

Essential travellers are required to keep records of close contacts for a 14 day period from the date of their arrival in South Australia.

A "close contact" occurs when a person is in the company of another person:

  • within an enclosed space for two hours or longer
  • within 1.5 m of the other person for 15 minutes or longer

The essential traveller must record the time and location of the contact, as well as the name and contact details of each other person (if known). These records must be kept for 28 days after the initial 14-day recording period.


The following essential travellers are not required to keep records of close contacts.

  • National and state security and governance personnel
  • Fly-in, fly-out (FIFO) workers
  • Emergency service workers
  • Cross-border community members

Arriving from overseas

All new arrivals into Australia are being quarantined in their port of arrival in supervised accommodation for 14 days to ensure compliance.

A person is deemed to have arrived when they leave the airport or disembark from their vessel. This means passengers whose final destination is not South Australia may complete their journeys without being subject to quarantine in South Australia.

Travelling overseas

All overseas travel is currently prohibited.


If you are directed by a health professional or law enforcement agency to quarantine for 14 days, you must do so.

A $1,000 on-the-spot fine can be issued to anyone breaching self-quarantine requirements.

SA Health and SA Police are working together to monitor people who should be in quarantine and fines may be issued to people who breach these directives.

More information

Cross-border travel direction

Overseas travel self-quarantine direction

Who is an essential traveller (PDF, 173.7 KB) - 9 May 2020
Who is an essential traveller (DOCX, 165.1 KB) - 9 May 2020

Other websites

COVID-19 and the Australian border - Department of Home Affairs

SA border closure - SAPOL

Page last updated 20 May 2020